Clark Bunch

My Other Blog

  • Quotables

    Click any image below to view full size. Bible, all i need to know faith ... ... ... ...
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Subscribe

  • Search this site:

  • Clicky Links

    The Master's Table

    My book

    My book

    Believe in Yourself

    Believe in Yourself

    Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

    Smiles Squared

    Steve Brown etc.

    Radio Free Babylon

    Cameron Nutter

    Talin Orfali

New Year’s Resolution Time

Posted by Clark Bunch on December 26, 2011

New Year’s Day gives us all hope that we can turn over a new leaf and make a new start.  I don’t know if it’s hanging a new calendar or the guilt of Thanksgiving and Christmas feasts that drives us, but we all keep trying… again… don’t we?

I’d like to begin by saying I’ve done pretty well in 2011.  I never reached my goal of 200 pounds, but I did loose about 40 of the 66 pounds I was aiming for and have managed to stay in that range.  I look a lot better than July 2010 for sure.  My other resolution back in January was to read the complete ESV Bible this year.  I’ve previously read the King James and the NRSV in their entirety, but never read the whole ESV despite preaching and teaching from it a few years now.  I do not read straight through from Genesis to Revelation each year but did do so this year.  (Actually I have a few more chapters to go, but will do so later today or in the morning.  I do have until Saturday you know.)

2012

If the world does not end early (it’s not supposed to until next December) I have a few goals for 2012.  Assuming I will start the year around 225 lbs. I aim to loose a pound a week for 25 weeks.  That is a sustainable, healthy amount of weight loss and would put me in at 200 lbs. by July 4th.  That is exactly one year late on my 66 pounds in 12 months mission, but the end result will be the same.  Now that I’ve said it I will feel a certain obligation to fulfill it.

I also have a couple of writing goals.  I started a project a couple of years ago to  blog through a survey of the Bible.  The Book of Genesis covers the first thousand years or so of human history.  There’s a lot of really important stuff coming at you fast as you read those first several chapters.  The going was slow, until I quit going completely.  I’ve thought more than once about deleting what I’ve done so far and bailing out.  But if it was a good idea 2 years ago (perhaps 3 by now) then it’s a good idea to finish.  Here’s hoping.

Year’s ago, before we moved to Kentucky, I had an idea for a book.  I must have written the first chapter 2 or 3 times.  When Michael Spencer starting seriously putting his book together I got inspired again and cranked out a total of 3 chapters.  Blogging is part of the problem.  I can pop out 2 or 3 blog posts a day, on a myriad of subjects.  My ADHD makes it hard to focus on something the size of a book long enough to get through it.  I would like to finish, but my enthusiasm comes and goes as I get excited about other things.  I’ve had the same problem since kindergarten, but blog posts, Facebook, 10 minute or less YouTube videos and the Internet in general proliferate the issue.  If I don’t get a complete manuscript written I’m going to go through life mumbling about how I never finished one book.  I already regret not doing so years ago; I don’t want to be a grumpy old man, sitting around in a nursing home talking to myself about how it never happened.  It would be nice to publish at least one title before the death of print media.

So there it is, in 500 more words than necessary.  I resolve in 2012 to:

  1. Loose 25 more pounds, hopefully in 25 weeks.
  2. Continue Bible Survey in a timely fashion.
  3. Finish my book.

We’ll see in 12 months how many of these make my list for 2013.  Assuming the Mayans are wrong and all.

One Response to “New Year’s Resolution Time”

  1. I just wrote chapter one… again. :-D

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

