Painting the Gnome

 

Photo1392Our garden gnome was looking pretty pale. Most of his color was either very faded or chipping away. When I planted the flower beds last summer I stuck the gnome as far away as I could at the other end of the house so nobody would see him. Here’s a few more “before” pics, click any image to view full size:

Photo1394

Photo1391

Photo1393

I bought six small tubes of acrylic paint – red, yellow, blue, white, black and brown – and a small assortment of different sized brushes. I spent less than $10 and a few relaxing hours on the back porch in no particular hurry. I let the four-year-old help. Below are the “after” pics.

Photo1398

Photo1397

I can see small imperfections but no one is going to be looking this closely. He looked very tired and shabby before and I find the end result extremely satisfying. I plan to spray him with some sort of clear coat with UV protection before placing him back in the flower garden.

 

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in smile :-), what's up and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

