My Weight Loss Program

scaleThis week’s update: 249. 

Someone asked in the comment section what diet program I recommend as the best one out there.  The simple answer is, I don’t.  I commented such a long response, I decided to write a post on this subject.

I don’t recommend any program out there, per se.  My advice to anyone is to use common sense.  Diet programs are fads that tend to come and go.  Basic wisdom tells us that if we expend more calories than we consume, we will lose weight.  Some of the things people do to achieve that do more harm than good.

My weight loss routine is to adjust my diet to be high in protein, low in fat.  I don’t cut out meat, but I cut down my intake of meat and eat more vegetables.  The rule of thumb for milk is 24 in 24.  Consuming 24 ounces of milk every 24 hours helps boost whatever weight loss plan your using.  Even if that’s not true, skim milk provides lots of protein with no fat, and also vitamins A, D, and calcium.   

My weight problem is caused by eating outside of normal meal time.  I can eat constantly from 4 p.m. until bedtime, every day of the week.  My weight loss plan is to eat the way I described above, and only during the 3 meals each day.  (My breakfast is typically bran flakes and skim milk.  Boosting whole grain intake helps you feel full longer.)  I also up my level of physical activity.  You don’t have to run 5 miles everyday, just add some exercise or even walking to what you already do in a given day.  Teaching school just doesn’t burn as many calories as I like to take in.  I have to “do” something else.  Decreasing calories, adding physical activity.  Don’t overdo it; it took me 4 years to go from 200 lbs. to 265.  I know I can’t loose it in 3 months.

Hints and Tidbits:  Tuna fish is excellent in the protein to fat ratio.  If you cut down on meat in general because of fat and cholesterol, you may not get enough protein.  You need that to build lean muscles mass, which burns calories.  Losing muscle as you loss weight works against you in the long run.

Cottage cheese is great in the fat/protein thing also.  I use cottage cheese on my salad in place of ranch dressing.  Of all salad dressings, ranch is the highest in fat, sometimes 20 grams in 2 tablespoons (and no one uses just 2 tablespoons). 

I like bran flakes, maybe I’m just weird.  You might prefer Special K, Product 19, or Shredded Wheat instead.  Yes Shredded Wheat is kinda’ high in calories, but it’s whole grain.  You’ll spend some of those calories digesting the stuff, unlike processed sugar. 

Buy a cheap pedometer (5 bucks at Wal-Mart) and start counting your steps.  Set a goal like 10,000 steps a day (4.5 miles if you’re average height).  After a few weeks, go up to 12,000.  Whatever you’re doing now, do a little more.  Don’t do one big thing; do a dozen little things throughout the day to take a few extra steps.  Soon it will become a habit.

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in weight loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Weight Loss Program

  1. Pingback: My Diet and Weight Loss » Blog Archive » hour fitness aerobics american weight loss atkins

  2. Pingback: Weight Loss - My Weight Loss Program

  3. Pingback: My Weight Loss Program | realfitnesstx.com

  4. Pingback: My Weight Loss Program | The Exercise Site

  5. Pingback: My Diet and Weight Loss » Blog Archive » Club lbbizlawchik 02142007 AM by

  6. diet pills says:

    Thank you for your posting and great information.

    Like

  7. Pingback: My Diet and Weight Loss » Blog Archive » FREE eNewsletter the Scoop Inspiring tips

Leave a Reply

