To All Spammers Everywhere

spamI read a lot of blogs. I mean I read A LOT of blogs, and not one blog I’ve ever read has a dozen or so spam ads in the comment section of each post. There’s this thing called comment moderation, and most bloggers use it. Any comment with a ton of links is automatically suspect, and sent to my spam file by the good people at Akismet. Even blogs without active moderation apparently remove spam ads when they see them. I’ve never seen one blog loaded up with spam in the last 5 years, and I’m not exaggerating.

SO WHY SEND OUT SPAM?!? If it all gets deleted anyway, are you really raking in the profits hand over foot from the thousands of crap messages, ads and bogus comments you send out? For every dollar you make, you’re pissing of hundreds of people. What have you gained?

note: My apologies to the good people at Hormel. SPAM helped us win WWII, and I enjoy the real SPAM. Keep it coming 🙂

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in blogging, F.Y.I., rant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To All Spammers Everywhere

  1. ggw_bach says:

    the spammers switch on their spam machines … and walk away. If they get results, they’re happy, if they don’t, they just keep the machine running. Doesn’t cost them anything (unfortunately).

    id does frustrate the hell out of decent, ordinary ppl though.

    Like

  2. roncorbin says:

    Moderation is key my friend, I do this daily and takes up a little time.

    I run a social network group, and have specific groups. For example: “Post your success stories here.” Like clockwork, a comment with 50 banners in it pops up. WOW, they actually took the time to make a spam ad containing 50 banners. Imagine if they put that energy into FAIR marketing. The results would be amazing.

    On my blogs, no spam, why? I have no clue…

    So I will continue to blog against spam, and moderate all my groups. Quality is very important to me and my members.

    Thanks for the great POST, Hormell rules.

    Like

  3. Doraz says:

    Clark, you hit it right on! It is a problem for some!

    Like

  4. Admimmim says:

    Hello ! htp://www.moremayo.com/archives/000041.shtml
    “htp://www.moremayo.com/archives/000041.shtml” rel=”nofollow”>bibi So, I assume you’ve all heard by now that the McDonald’s Monopoly game was rigged

    Clark says: I disabled the links, but check it; this spam appears as a comment to my rant on spam! Unbelievable.

    Like

  5. Pingback: A True Story About Spam. « My Other Blog

Leave a Reply

