Distracted by Facebook

I love Facebook.  I have reconnected with dozens of old friends from high school and college, and use it to keep up with far away friends and those literally around the corner.

Lately, however, Facebook has distracted me from blogging.  I have done some serious writing on The Master’s Table these past two years, and actually consider that part of my ministry.  Click on the map sometime in the bottom righthand corner; my religion blog is read all over the world, including China.  Even pics and videos I once would have posted here, on My Other Blog, I link on Facebook and go on.  That gets my need to share out of my system.  My Facebook profile has a much more limited audience than this blog does, and in a few days the posts simply disappear.  I need to start blogging again.

My Other Blog is dominated by funny videos, Failblog and Uncle Jay Explains.  I’m a big fan of Uncle Jay, but when I re-imagined this blog I planned to write.  You know, words and sentences.  I have not given one word to the Gulf oil spill, BP, humanitarian response nor Federal response.  Dennis Hopper died a few weeks ago.  Lost ended.  The Master’s Table just went one month between new posts.  Reading Spencer’s book is doing me a lot of good.  A review of Mere Churchianity will be my next post there, probably within the next day or two.  He always gets me fired up.

I love Facebook; I also love to blog, love my job, and love my family.  There are only so many hours in the day, and I’m working on making my time work for me not against me.  Here’s to life; long live the blog.

(And I love bunches of bunches of you guys too, don’t worry.)

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in blogging, mood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

