My Old Cell Phone

In 2006 I bought a Motorola V190.  My nephews are 11, and based on their reactions you’d think it has rotary dial or something.  I’ve loved this phone for the past six years, and it still works great.  Thanks to it’s antenna (see picture) I get service where some people’s new sleeker looking phones have none.  I text using the numberic keypad, and can use some mobile web features.  And here’s a shocker: this phone is 3G.  

I’m currently “trying out” a Samsung Flight II.  While not a smartphone, the Flight II utilizes a large touch screen and slide-out QWERTY keyboard.  The term 3G, and now 4G, gets used a lot in t.v. and print ads, but my old V190 was built on 3G (or 3rd generation) standards back in it’s day.  The 3G standards were introduced in 2000, combining telephone with mobile web, mobile email and mobile television.  Nobody was saying “3G” in 2006, but I pulled out my SIM card and it has 3G printed on it.  I inserted my 6-year-old SIM card into the Samsung and turned it on.

I hate to replace anything that still works, just ask my 4-year-old laptop (running Vista).  The Motorola is still a good phone; it keeps a charge for about a week and has never given me any problems, not in six years.  I hate selecting new ring tones, updating my contact list, and figuring out how to do things.  I do look forward to always having a camera with me all the time, and will now be more addicted to Facebook and WordPress than ever before.

FYI: 

Ever wonder what the letters E or G mean if you see them in place of the 3G icon on your phone?  G is GPRS, or 2nd Generation standards.  E stands for EDGE, or Enhanced GPRS.  Think of it as 2.5 G.  You can usually disable it, but by default your phone will switch to these networks if 3G is not available.

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in "other" and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

