30 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 9

happy coffeeI am thankful for mornings.

This one is kind of oddball, it surprised me a little too. I don’t know if it’s something me dad taught me or something in the genetic code that I could do little about but I have turned out to be something of a morning person. My alarm was set for 6, as it is every morning, but I got out of bed at 5:30 and started the coffee early.

Being a morning person in my house is a blessing because I’m the only one. It gives me a two hour head start on reading, the internet, watching the news etc. It is the only time of day I can pray in peace and quite without taking a walk. I was taking the FFA on a pretty long field trip (I was the bus driver, not the FFA director) and they wanted to eat breakfast at 5 and leave campus at 5:30. I told my wife we would be pulling out at 5:30 a.m. She jokingly – I’m pretty sure jokingly – said “There’s a 5:30 a.m. too?” She enjoys a good sunset but when we got married she had never seen a sunrise. She has now seen one or two and admits those look nice also.

Our daughter is going to be another story. We tell people all the time that she looks like her mother but acts like me. On the weekends, with no prompting, she will usually crawl out around 7:30 or so; sometimes earlier if she happens to stir and realizes I’m up. I post a lot of pics and one-liners about coffee, and say things about cup of coffee and a Bible, but even without those things let’s face it – I’d be up anyway.

As the door turneth upon his hinges, so doth the slothful upon his bed. Proverbs 26:14 KJV

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in thanksgiving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

