30 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 10

Doug LedfordI am thankful for Doug Ledford and the Gordon Memorial Baptist Association.

Doug Ledford is the Director of Missions for our local association of Baptist churches. I first met Doug when a collection of folks from several different churches were planning the very first SPLASH Gordon event in 2013. Earlier this year I went to the association office and handed him my resume and a copy of my book, and we talked about churches in Gordon County looking for pastors. I am the pastor of Unity Baptist Church in Plainville because God wills it, but Doug is one of the people God used to make it happen.

Doug and I are the annual meeting of the Georgia Baptist Convention right now. (This post was written on Saturday and scheduled to publish Monday morning.) He called me a couple of weeks ago and invited me to ride with him. Each year he tries to take someone to the annual meeting that wouldn’t get to go otherwise. Knowing that I just started the new position, am in the process of moving, and was actually unemployed there for a while, he realized I would probably not be going unless someone¬†offered.

I don’t know exactly what to expect but look forward to it. And regardless of what happens at the meeting I am thankful for Doug and others like him who seek to serve rather to be served.

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in thanksgiving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

