30 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 15

chromeI am thankful for Chromebook.

Yes, I realize some of my 30 things are a little oddball. No, Google has not compensated me for an endorsement.

In early 2013 (February, March maybe) my Acer laptop was five years old. I was still running Windows Vista but the biggest issue was my screen. The connection was getting unstable and sometimes the screen would blink a little and/or go out completely. If that happened there was no way to get it back but to shut down and restart. Teresa’s laptop was only one year old and ran Windows 7, so I began looking at Chromebooks. I considered a tablet for things like Facebook and watching YouTube videos and Netflix. But for blogging I wasn’t ready to give up a real keyboard. Acer had just released a Chromebook with a retail price of only $199 instead of the $249 that Samsung and HP Chromebooks sold for. Sweet!

Chromebook is designed to be connected to the internet, and has limited functionality when offline. But I was using my laptop almost exclusively to connect to our home wifi. It’s small and lightweight (especially compared to my wife’s laptop with the 19″ screen) and has a full QWERTY keyboard. I post to Facebook and Twitter, read my email, but also write much longer blog posts (such as this one). I started writing the final version of my book on my old Acer Aspire but finished writing and editing on Chromebook. I can also easily connect to our t.v. with HDMI to stream Hulu and Netflix. In the early days I had to print by saving to a flash drive or emailing my document and then printing from our real laptop. But we can now print wirelessly from anywhere. Teresa now has an iPod touch, a Kindle Fire and most recently a Windows phone. The real computer is rarely used.

Here’s a bonus: Chromebook connects to the internet and runs apps. You cannot download or install programs which makes it impervious to virus downloads and malware/ spyware that runs in the background. I don’t pay for McAfee or Norton, nor do I have to keep downloading and installing updates for AVG. I’ve used mine everyday for nearly two years and it continues to function as it always has rather than getting slower and increasingly unstable over time. With Google Chromebook I have none of the Windows drawbacks and didn’t have to pay $2,000 for a MacBook.

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in thanksgiving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 15

  1. I bought a Chromebook recently and LOVED it….however….returned it because of the inability to use Microsoft Office (which I use for EVERYTHING)…
    I have gone through two laptops since because I can’t find anything like the Chromebook and am now working on an old computer. What program do you use to write? What about a cloud?

    Like

    • Clark Bunch says:

      There is a Word reader that will let you read .doc and .docx files on Chromebook. You can compose in Google Docs and export/save/share those files as Word Documents. There is also Google Slides and Google Sheets that imitate Power Point and Spreadsheet. You can open files form those sources, edit them, then export them again even though you are technically not using Microsoft Office.

      When I finished my book I saved it to a flash drive as a Word file then emailed it to my publisher from Teresa’s laptop.

      Like

  2. Clark Bunch says:

    This isn’t exactly what I was looking for but maybe this will give you an idea what Google Docs is good for: http://www.free-power-point-templates.com/articles/google-slides-vs-powerpoint-online-the-cloud-presentation-battle/

    This help article from Google will give you a good idea of what you can do on a Chromebook without Office: https://support.google.com/docs/answer/49008?hl=en

    Like

Leave a Reply

