30 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 19

Screenshot 2014-11-19 at 8.39.53 AMI am thankful for modern conveniences.

As our weather rapidly changed from warm to frigid this week, I am specifically thankful for heaters with pilot lights, thermostats, and indoor climate control. During the oil crisis of the mid to late 1970’s, my dad decided to switch our heating fuel of choice from natural gas to wood. Our house had originally been a four room home with no indoor plumbing and a wood burning cookstove. He re-opened the flue, built a chimney, and we began a regular weekend ritual of cutting, splitting and stacking firewood. So yes, I have in fact got up early on a cold morning and built a fire. I’ve gone out in the snow to bring in firewood so it could dry. I was mixing two-cycle oil with gas long before I was allowed to actually use the chainsaw.

So today I am thankful for homes that heat themselves when it gets cold, as well as a coffee maker that turns itself on at 6 a.m. I am thankful for rear window defrosters, windshield wiper defrosters, and heated side mirrors. I am thankful for automated debit payments, for wireless printers that connect to our home wifi network, and for digital pics that I can email directly to said printer. I am thankful for prescriptions that not only refill themselves but send me a text message reminder to pick them up.

I too rode my bicycle until the street lights came on. I remember when we had one telephone and that was attached to the wall, and we had one television in the whole house and it got three channels. But I wouldn’t want to go back. 😉

Our looked exactly like this one.

Our looked exactly like this one.

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in thanksgiving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

