30 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 23

SundayI am thankful for Sundays.

God worked for six days and then he rested. Was God tired? Of course not, but as always he was giving us a good example to follow. Rest is a blessing. It really is a gift from God. In his book Humility C.J. Mahaney includes a whole chapter on sleep and reminds us not to forsake one of life’s simplest blessings.

On Thursday and Friday I worked on our house, mostly painting on those two days. We are nearly done with that phase but there is still work to be done. I worked all day Saturday helping a friend install hardwood flooring. I came home late and beat. Here’s the thing: I have already listed good friends among the things I am thankful for. I have also listed certain skills, such as carpentry, and I am glad to have the ability as well as the health and strength to help my friend finish his house. But I don’t know when to quit. He was picking up today where we left off but our family had church services to attend to. Teresa and I offered special music this morning and I have two sermons to preach (one more to go) before the day is over.

I am thankful for Sundays, because we just don’t know what is good for us. Worship services, lunch with family, perhaps even a little nap are blessings in a stressful world that recharge us for the week ahead. God is good.

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in thanksgiving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

