30 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 24

sweet tea, mason jarsI am thankful for the South.

I have lived most of my life in the State of Georgia, just a short distance from Atlanta. ATL is the home of Coca-Cola, Krystal, Chick-fil-A, Applebee’s and all of the Turner cable networks. In the South sliced tomatoes are a side dish while tomato sandwiches are a meal. Any temperature below freezing is ridiculously cold. Elvis was born in Tupelo, Mississippi and when he struck it rich moved all the way to Memphis, Tennessee. Say you want about the South, no one retires and moves up north.

My “first car” was a pickup truck. I’ve had three, two Ford’s and a Chevrolet.

Hartsfield has been the busiest airport in the world (based on number of passengers) since 1998.

My grandfather worked at Lockheed in Marietta during WWII and my dad worked there in the mid 80’s during the C5-B contract. Both lived in Calhoun and made a daily commute.

Georgia ranked 1st on Tripadvisor’s list of best places for barbecue.

I drove a tractor today.

McDonald’s serves sweet tea, but not in Mason jars.

Magnolia blossoms, Bible belt.

Fried chicken, sweet tea, okra, pinto beans and cornbread, Vidalia onions, fried green tomatoes, watermelon, banana pudding, sliced peaches, boiled peanuts – yes please.

True story: I pulled to the side of a narrow road to let oncoming cars pass. The shoulder was soft from recent rain and when I went to pull back into the road the shoulder collapsed and we slide off in the ditch. When Teresa asked what I was going to do I said, and I quote “I’m going to walk to the first trailer I see with a pickup truck parked in front of it.” It was a short walk. The guy said, and again I quote “Let me get my boots on, I’ll be right there.” He pulled our Jeep back onto the road, the entire event lasted less than 20 minutes.

Another true story: My wife’s college roommate was from Sweden. Her culture shock was brought on not just by coming to America but by coming to the deep South. The three of us were eating at a local barbecue restaurant. When our food came we bowed our heads and I turned thanks. Two men at the table next to us, complete strangers who didn’t even have their food yet, stopped talking and also bowed their heads. Lisa’s head almost exploded.

I could rattle on about REM, the Augusta National, the Centennial Olympic Games, Delta, UPS and so on so forth. I think the point has been made. I’m glad to be here and from here, that’s all I’m trying to say. Y’all.

 

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

