Wikipedia Explains Uncle Jay

Each week I repost the current episode of Uncle Jay Explains the News.  I’ve often wondered about the creative force behind the weekly video weblog.  In the most recent episode (June 21, 2010) Jay mentions that he writes, films, edits and then uploads each episode himself.  Wow.  Well, to make a short story long, it finally occurred to me to use the power of the Internet itself to learn more about my web logging friend.  Enter Wikipedia.

I most often used Wikipedia to find out whatever happened to that 80’s t.v. personality, or to read up on the cast of some show or movie.  I prefer Wikipedia to IMBD (but my wife does not, a citation I need to make just in case she reads my blog this week).  Again I digress.

Uncle Jay is the online persona of Jay Gilbert, a radio DJ in Cincinnati.  Uncle Jay Explains the News began as a local access program back in the mid 90’s, but lasted only two seasons.  Eventually technology progressed to the point that he could produce the program on his laptop, and the Internet gave him a larger audience than local cable.  His show is now viewed some 20,000 times weekly, appearing on his site, YouTube, Facebook, and of course linked by the good people of My Other Blog.  I take personal credit for expanding Jay’s viewership by 2 or 3.

Click here for the full story. And remember, a great kid is great news.

About Clark Bunch

Pastor (Unity Baptist) author (God is Near) husband, father, blogger, coffee enthusiast.
This entry was posted in blogging, F.Y.I., news, Uncle Jay Explains and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wikipedia Explains Uncle Jay

  1. Doraz says:

    Thank you for giving us this information and link to a wonderful person…I just love his stuff. 🙂

    Like

  2. G AN says:

    A smiling old curmudgeon who frequently (per episode) lets reality show its stark face. Reminds me of “Rocky and Bullwinkle”

    Like

Leave a comment